Short answer: Hootsuite is a full social media management suite (scheduling, analytics, listening, inbox) sold per user, aimed at businesses and agencies across many industries. Farmero is a Mac app that drives iPhones you own and posts through the real TikTok, Instagram and YouTube apps. For teams running brand accounts with reporting needs, Hootsuite fits. For operators running many short-form accounts on real phones, Farmero fits.
Everything about Hootsuite below is from hootsuite.com and hootsuite.com/plans as they read on 17 September 2026.
Side by side
| Hootsuite | Farmero | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Scheduling, content, analytics, listening, inbox | Mac app (macOS 14+) driving your iPhones (iOS 17+) over USB |
| Platforms | Not listed on the plans page or homepage | TikTok, Instagram Reels, YouTube Shorts |
| How posts are published | Not stated on their page | The real apps on your own iPhones, no platform API |
| Pricing | Standard $99/user/mo, Professional $199, Advanced $399, Enterprise custom | Solo $49/mo up to Agency $349/mo, sized by iPhones, accounts and Macs |
| Account limits | Standard up to 10; higher plans list no cap | 8 accounts per iPhone: 24 on Solo up to 480 on Agency |
| Trial | 14 days, no card; trial accounts have daily posting limits | 7 days, 2 iPhones, 16 accounts, no card |
| Warm-up | Not stated | Optional, per account |
| Post confirmation | Not stated | Checks the profile for the new post |
How the two approaches differ
Hootsuite sits in a browser and talks to connected social accounts. Its value is breadth: one place for publishing, listening, customer messages and reporting across a company.
Farmero is narrower and physical. It runs your iPhones from a Mac, opens the real app, verifies the account from the profile header, posts, and then confirms the post exists before calling it done. It does not do listening, inbox or view reporting. It also needs hardware: a Mac, the iPhones, cables and, past a handful of phones, a powered USB hub. See how warm-ups work for the other half of what it does.
When Hootsuite is the better fit
- You are a business or agency team with approvals, reporting and customer care needs.
- You manage brand accounts across many networks from one place.
- You need social listening.
- Budget is set per seat and the per-user price is acceptable.
When Farmero is the better fit
- You run many TikTok, Instagram or YouTube accounts, each on a real iPhone.
- You want optional warm-up sessions with human-paced scrolling and likes at a rate you set.
- You want plan pricing sized by iPhones and accounts.
- You want a clear record of posted, not posted and refused, on the Mac and optionally in Telegram or ntfy (posting docs).
Automating these apps may breach their terms, and nobody can promise an account will never be restricted.
FAQ
How much does Hootsuite cost?
As of 17 September 2026, Hootsuite's plans page lists Standard at $99 per user per month, Professional at $199, Advanced at $399, and custom Enterprise pricing.
How many accounts does Hootsuite allow?
Its plans page lists up to 10 accounts on Standard and no cap on Professional and above, as of 17 September 2026.
Is Farmero a replacement for Hootsuite?
Only for the posting part, and only on TikTok, Instagram Reels and YouTube Shorts. It has no listening or inbox features.
What do I need to run Farmero?
A Mac on macOS 14+, iPhones on iOS 17+, USB cables and Xcode once to install the runner. The quickstart walks through it.
Can I use Hootsuite and Farmero together?
Yes. A common split is to keep brand or client accounts in Hootsuite and run phone-based TikTok, Reels and Shorts accounts in Farmero. The two don't share accounts or schedules, so they don't conflict. Just avoid scheduling the same clip to the same account from both tools, or it will post twice.
